Author Topic: first wingnut wings kit ?  (Read 10437 times)

Offline michael

first wingnut wings kit ?
« on: June 10, 2012, 01:29:43 AM »
hello all,

i am planning to treat myself to a WNW kit and would like to hear what kit WNW veterans would recommend as a good first build for a novice?

cheers

michael

“An ounce of action is worth a ton of theory.”

Offline Chris Johnson

Re: first wingnut wings kit ?
« Reply #1 on: June 10, 2012, 02:02:24 AM »
First off, as a novice, I'd go straight out of the box with the notable addition of adding rigging. That being said, I'd go with their Sopwith Pup, either edition, as it almost falls together. The Albatros kits can be a bit finicky when it comes to fitting the fuselage bulkheads, as the tolerances are so tight, so I'd do a Pup first to get the hang of things.

Cheers,

Chris
You can have it good; You can have it fast; you can have it cheap. Pick any two, but all three are impossible.

Offline Pete Nottingham

• I chose the wrong week to stop sniffing glue
« Reply #2 on: June 10, 2012, 02:58:13 AM »
Hi Michael;

I would agree with Chris, the Pup is a nice simple build, but looks really good when finished, the Albies look great and are a great build but you do have to be very careful with the bulkheads and even a coat of paint can prevent them fitting snugly and then your fusilage halves don't fit together properly.

Cheers

Pete.

Offline gcn

« Reply #3 on: June 10, 2012, 03:57:49 AM »
IMO you can't beat the Roland although the Pup is an easy build too.

Offline Jose Chaica

• Jose "Von Muttley" Chaica
« Reply #4 on: June 10, 2012, 06:52:11 AM »
In my opinion, and if you want to avoid the (not so) dreaded rigging, then I would advise the Junkers J.I. It has a slight problem (in the wings) to correct, but nevertheless an excellent choice.
Jose Chaica, from Portugal.

Offline Ian from Doncaster

« Reply #5 on: June 10, 2012, 09:14:55 AM »