Author Topic: First trials  (Read 13459 times)

Offline IFF1418

First trials
« on: May 08, 2013, 09:21:59 PM »
Hi All,

I started to build my first WW1 airplane, the RAF SE5a "Hisso" from WNW. I am end will be brushpainting for the moment and maybe save for an airbrush system later.
I'm using Tamiya acrylic paint.
My first mistake, I think, was painting the inside of the fuselage in a white primer, what made the painting of the CDL quite difficult. I also used not enough thinner on the CDL and the first layer was terrible and coagulated a lot. After adding (about 30%) of thinner and adding a retarder, it went much better.
My first question : I applied a layer of clear paint on the light wood, but it seemed to mix quite a bit with the previous layer. Is this normal? I made another try on the leather color with the same result. Can someone help me out?
The colors are not at all good, but being a novice I will have to work on that in the future models.
I also applied the bracing wires with brass ends as Des explains so well. Very pleasant job!
My second question : the rigging of the steering pedals : where are they leading to and where? Has anyone a detailed shedule of it? Thank you.
I also looked on the web for the book "The official Tecnical and Rigging notes for RFC and RNAS Fighting and Training Aeroplanes 1914-1918" by John Tanner. I found some used on Amazon, but the vendors aren't delivering to Belgium. Any idea where I could procure it?
Thank you for looking at the pictures (which will follow, as I have to reduce them furter). As you can see, it is a beginners work, and all of your experienced remarks, good or bad are wellcome. It will help me to grow in this fantastic hobby.

Patrick

Wednesday 8th mai - 1 p.m.

Offline IFF1418

Re: First trials
« Reply #1 on: May 08, 2013, 09:42:19 PM »
Included some of the pictures of the SE5a

Offline uncletony

• Aircraft In Pixels
« Reply #2 on: May 08, 2013, 10:27:47 PM »
Welcome Patrick!