Author Topic: Italeri Fiat Mefistofele 1/12 scale  (Read 19812 times)

Offline Jamo

• Wellington, NZ
    • My Smugmug album
Italeri Fiat Mefistofele 1/12 scale
« on: February 06, 2015, 04:13:50 PM »
I have never built a car model before but I couldn't resist this beauty. Here is the box alongside a Wingnut Wings Sopwith Triplane for comparison

Bought it on ebay from an Italian modelshop for 134 Euro plus postage of 36 Euro, which came to $264 NZD. The kit derives from an old Protar kit, but moulded in plastic not white metal.

Love the engine, a WWI Fiat A12 22 litre straight six aero engine modified to produce approximately 320 hp. Here is the crankcase alongside a 1/32 Benz engine:

The car was nicknamed Mefistofele due to the loud noise from the exhaust. No reverse gear, and apparently no brakes if you believe the internet(?) fuel consumption 1.4mpg, Brit Sir Ernest Eldridge drove it to a world land speed record of 234.98 kph at Arpajon in France on 12 July, 1924, a record it held for only 32 days.  In 1969, the Mefistofele was purchased from Sir Eldridge's heirs by Fiat's boss Giovanni Agnelli. It was then shipped to Italy, where it was treated to a major restoration and added to the company's historic collection. It currently resides in the Centro Storico Fiat in Turin.

Happy Modelling
James Fahey

Check out my massive photo collection here: https://jamesfahey.smugmug.com/

Offline Des

• Administrator
    • ww1aircraftmodels.com
Re: Italeri Fiat Mefistofele 1/12 scale
« Reply #1 on: February 06, 2015, 04:46:25 PM »
What a great find Jamo, it certainly looks to be a pretty good kit of a very impressive vehicle, just imagine the detailing you will be able to add, looking forward to seeing you start this one.

Des.
Late Founder of ww1aircraftmodels.com and forum.ww1aircraftmodels.com

Offline Ssasho0

• Scale Models Club Bulgaria
« Reply #2 on: February 06, 2015, 05:42:51 PM »