Author Topic: 1/72 Scratch built RAF F.E.2b  (Read 3919 times)

Offline Bolman

1/72 Scratch built RAF F.E.2b
« on: June 03, 2014, 11:13:56 AM »
Like lone modeler, I do favor the pushers.

I've wanted a Fee for some time and looked for several years to find a kit for one. I finally came across a vac kit made by Formaplane and picked it up for probably too much. What I found inside was some strip stock for struts, a sheet of plastic with bumps in it which were supposed to be the parts and two sheets of drawings.

After looking at the sheet of styrene bumps, it occured to me, that I might be able to actually make all of the parts. I have some scratch building experience from my railroad modeling days, and I have made a few parts to replaced broken or missing parts for kits, I should be able to scratch an entire plane. So, at this point, the most valuable thing in that vac kit to me, was the three view drawing. I know there are a few publications out there that I could have gotten instead to do the same thing and I would have had more information too, but I was looking for a kit and this was a choice made on the fly. I grabbed some sheet stock and jumped in.

After checking the above drawing for scale, and deciding it was accurate enough for my purposes, I began with attempting to make the fuselage nacelle.