Author Topic: Something Completely Different: Oertz W6 Flying Schooner  (Read 7905 times)

Offline lone modeller

Something Completely Different: Oertz W6 Flying Schooner
« on: July 01, 2021, 07:25:00 AM »
Evening All,

Britmodeller have been running an "Anything But Injection" GB recently and one of the scratch builds was of the Oertz W6 Flugschoner (Flying Schooner) by @marklo. Many of you will know that I have a penchant for the obscure or unknown steampunkt subject: this is a twin biplane, twin-engined pusher so it ticks all of the boxes! Mark is making an excellent job of his model, but there is just one problem - it is in the wrong scale! So I will have to rectify that problem by building one in the True Scale.

For those who have never heard of this type before, here is a link to photos and information:

https://translate.google.com/translate?hl=en&sl=ru&u=http://seawarpeace.ru/deutsch/seaplane/01_main/oertz_w6.html&prev=search&pto=aue

I am making this as part of a GB on another forum (not Britmodeller), and as usual I am employing materials found in any scratch builders kit box, ie wood, plastic sheet, strip, and rod, brass rod, wire and anything that is lying around and looks vaguely useful. Here are the instructions as supplied in my kit:

Hopefully I will be able to produce something resembling the original machine, (there was only one built), in the next few weeks. I have made a small start by laminating some plastic for engine blocks and wing floats, and wood for the hull. The hull shape has been marked out but one of the problems of modern limited run kits is the amount of flash in them: I can see much filing and shaping of wood and plastic in my immediate future as I try to extract a hull from this:

More later.

Thanks for looking.

Stephen.

Offline Rookie

• No guts, no glory...
Re: Something Completely Different: Oertz W6 Flying Schooner
« Reply #1 on: July 01, 2021, 07:35:09 AM »
...and obscure it is!

This will be fun to follow Stephen  :)