Author Topic: Greetings!  (Read 2199 times)

Offline SimonCornes

Greetings!
« on: June 03, 2020, 09:14:41 PM »
I am a relatively new WWI aircraft modeller but I have experience with more recent aircraft types. I have been buying mainly Wingnuts for around 5 years - my first buy was the Snipe (Late) because up to then I had been buying Silver Wings 1/32 resin kits of inter war types and the Snipe was an 'excuse' to try Wingnut. So I now have a typical Wingnut collection size but I haven't actually built one yet. I have the two books on building the kits plus Stringbag and I try to buy the appropriate Windsock to give me better knowledge of the subject. I am very interested in building techniques.... paints, materials. I am a mainly enamel user but I have questions about what paint to use when you apply lozenge decals? I start off with the idea that the Wingnut surface detail is very fine. My favourite primer is Halfords white plastic primer but then I worry that the Halfords paint might be too coarse for the moulded detail? Then I know I need a gloss coat - Halfords appliance white? Might that not be too coarse as well? I start with the principal that I don't want to cock it up! Maybe I need to know what the best paint combination is to get to that starting point of applying lozenge decals? I should say that I also have a few Roden 1/32 kits - the Wolsey SE5a for example and Fokker F.I and Dr.I plus a couple of earlier Albatros. I certainly have the kit base to get started but I just need to take the first step!

Simon

Offline lcarroll

• Administrator
Re: Greetings!
« Reply #1 on: June 04, 2020, 10:33:16 PM »