Author Topic: Non-Brass PE  (Read 2063 times)

Offline Trackpad

Non-Brass PE
« on: March 09, 2018, 12:47:41 PM »
Hi,

I'm building the WNW Albatros DV. One of the aftermarket items I want to use is the HGW Surface Detail Set (#132056). Rather than being offered in brass, this set looks to be in an aluminum- or steel-like material. I've no experience with this (my few PE usages have been in brass). I'd like to hear from anyone who has used this material: can it be annealed and, if so, how successful is the annealing; will the parts adapt to a curved surface easily; is any one glue better for this material than others. Any other thoughts, hints or ideas will be most welcome. TIA for any information!  8)
Cheers!
Gary

"It was an adventure, a great adventure. And, like all great adventures, we never knew where it would lead or how it would end."

Offline hiddeous1973

• Don't worry, Baldrick has a cunning plan !!
Re: Non-Brass PE
« Reply #1 on: March 09, 2018, 03:38:33 PM »
like most pe-sets these days, this is simply plated brass.

I don't know exactly why they do that, but Eduard (and thus HGW, same company) has been using that technique for many years. If you scratch the surface slightly, you will see brass underneath a very thin steel-like caoting.

I actually prefer this coating, if you airbrush a matt coat on it, it turns a slightly darker, dull metal colour that looks a lot like wheatered metal and I use some parts unpainted in that fashion ( I am a huge Eduard fan, use it on most of my 1/48 builds).
You don't need to remove the plating or anything or clean anything, you can use tha parts straight from the fret as they are,

Offline RLWP

• Bodger
« Reply #2 on: March 09, 2018, 06:36:05 PM »
Are you sure it isn't nickel silver? Seems more likely than plating

Richard
Hendon for flying - the fastest way to the ground!

Offline uncletony

• Aircraft In Pixels
« Reply #3 on: March 10, 2018, 04:45:21 AM »