Author Topic: Ian from RI, USA  (Read 2125 times)

Offline Iancshippee

Ian from RI, USA
« on: June 23, 2017, 11:28:38 PM »
Hello everyone, and thank you for welcoming me to the forum! I've been modeling for almost 30 years now, I started with cars at age 6 with lots of help from my father, my first kit was an AMT Ford Model T tourning car. I started WW1 modeling when I was was about 10, with a Lindberg Curtiss Jenny. I've always loved WW1 aircraft, thanks to my parents taking me to Old Rhinebeck Aerodrome back at the ripe age of 2 (and pretty much every year after that!) Most of my ww1 experience has been in 1:48, with the exception of a couple 1:28 Revell kits that have wandered my way (two Dr.1's and a Camel). I've largely based by models on paint schemes I remember from my childhood at Rhinebeck, and also some modern-day schemes they have. There's a couple of deviations from that course, but that's my general approach. I have a handful of  Wingnut Wings Sopwiths that have wound up in my hands, so I will get to try my hand at 1:32 soon. My current project is the Dragon Fokker D.VIII, which I'm planning to decorate to look like Brian Coughlin's fantastic D.VIII replica. I'm even adding a Copper State Gnome 9N rotary to get as close as I can. I'll add some pics of my models to the site as I can; I'm also the father of a 4 year old daughter and 8-month old son, so bench time is at a premium! Fortunately my daughter is a big fan of the kits, and even "helps" sometimes! Thanks again for welcoming me!

Ian

Offline Alpha Delta 210

Re: Ian from RI, USA
« Reply #1 on: June 24, 2017, 02:08:24 AM »
Hello and welcome, Ian

I only joined this week and have already found it to be the most friendly forum that I am a member of!

Enjoy!

Offline RAGIII

« Reply #2 on: June 24, 2017, 02:52:36 AM »
Welcome to the Forum from the Mountains of North Carolina. You will find this t be a friendly and informative atmosphere!
RAGIII
"A man has to know his limitations": Harry Callahan