Author Topic: Max Immelmann's Fokker E.I 13/15 scratch 1/144  (Read 38164 times)

Offline ondra

Max Immelmann's Fokker E.I 13/15 scratch 1/144
« on: May 17, 2017, 04:49:32 PM »
Hi folks,

I came to the conclusion that it is about time to start preparing for the next build - Immelmann's Eindecker E.I 13/15.

Yesterday I started drawing the plans for later use and would like to ask you for help - I took the Windsock datafile as a source, which says the length of E.I was 7,2 meters and the wingspan 10,05 meters. However, when I redrew the plans from the very same Windsock, the ratio between the span and length does not match. When I recalculate the wingspan from the Windsock drawing I get 9,2 meters.

Moreover, different sources refer to different span (8,85 meters).

Could you guys please advise me, where to find correct measurements and maybe even a reliable drawing?

Attached what I have drawn so far (short wing with 11 ribs).

Cheers

Ondra

Offline Wolf

• The challenge is in the scale
Re: Max Immelmann's Fokker E.I 13/15 scratch 1/144
« Reply #1 on: May 18, 2017, 12:51:38 AM »
Ok, I take a seat in the first row. Need some popcorn too.  :)
A model thrives on its overall impression and not on that every little disagreement over the original is hyped up as a disaster

Offline RAGIII

« Reply #2 on: May 18, 2017, 01:26:26 AM »
As always I am looking forward to your build! As for drawings I think the Windsock Fokker Compendium might be the best choice. ( I do not have these publications so this is only a guess) I have some older drawings of EIIIs I think but won't help with your subject.
RAGIII
"A man has to know his limitations": Harry Callahan

"Don't slop it on" Lynda Geisler

Offline KiwiZac

• Global Moderator
    • My Linktree
« Reply #3 on: May 18, 2017, 12:01:10 PM »
Beverage at the ready. This will be great!
Zac in NZ

Offline ondra

« Reply #4 on: May 18, 2017, 05:47:56 PM »
Many thanks for your support, Wolf, Rick and KiwiZac!