Author Topic: SSW D-III Seat  (Read 2148 times)

Offline skeeterbuck

SSW D-III Seat
« on: August 18, 2015, 03:43:16 AM »
I noticed in the Eduard SSW kit that the photo-etched seat back is painted to indicate wood (plywood).

I thought that the seat back was aluminum. Who goofed Eduard or me?

Also, it looks like Eduard got the logenze better in the weekend kit that in the original Profikit version although the weekend version still looks off some to me.

Thanks!

Chuck

Offline petrov27

Re: SSW D-III Seat
« Reply #1 on: August 18, 2015, 06:33:45 AM »
be curious on what others say - I went with wood on my build but I do not recall what I based that choice on....

-Patrick

Online RAGIII

« Reply #2 on: August 18, 2015, 08:37:25 AM »
I am by no means an expert but I would see no reason for lightening holes in an Aluminum seat?
RAGIII
"A man has to know his limitations": Harry Callahan

"Don't slop it on" Lynda Geisler

Offline skeeterbuck

« Reply #3 on: August 18, 2015, 12:05:08 PM »
I am by no means an expert but I would see no reason for lightening holes in an Aluminum seat?
RAGIII

I would agree if that's why the holes were made in the first place.

Of course if they were really interested in saving weight, why not use wicker like in the Camel?

Offline uncletony

• Aircraft In Pixels
« Reply #4 on: August 18, 2015, 12:18:49 PM »
Because wicker is crazy labor-intensive compared to drilling some holes in a sheet of plywood.

Offline skeeterbuck

« Reply #5 on: August 18, 2015, 11:43:05 PM »
Because wicker is crazy labor-intensive compared to drilling some holes in a sheet of plywood.

Raises the question why Tommy Sopwith did it in the first place?  ???

Offline skeeterbuck

« Reply #6 on: August 19, 2015, 12:34:13 AM »

Pic I found on the Aerodrome site. Notice how thin the seat back is and the seat cushion doesn't have any button detail.

Offline ALBATROS1234

« Reply #7 on: August 19, 2015, 06:56:07 AM »