Author Topic: A new Kiwi says hello  (Read 1582 times)

Offline KiwiZac

• Global Moderator
    • My Linktree
A new Kiwi says hello
« on: April 29, 2015, 11:32:26 AM »
Hi all!
My name's Zac, I'm a Court Registry Officer by trade but I'm first and foremost an avgeek of the highest order. I grew up building plastic models (RC doesn't really appeal to me) and watching The Blue Max, The Great Waldo Pepper, The Battle Of Britain, The Greatest Flight and the Warbirds Over Wanaka airshow videos. I've dabbled in flying but money, weather or lack of instructors conspired against me each time. I'm all about preserved "warbirds", agricultural aircraft and helicopters, as well as an avid devourer of historical work.

I haven't built many WW1 models but, as a New Zealander and attendee at TVAL and Classic Fighters shows, it's hard to resist the Wingnut Wings line and that's chiefly what's brought me here. I have a few purchases in mind but I'm accumulating reference material and build tips/suggestions from modellers all over the web, and I've lurked here for the past week or so absorbing the range of magnificent work on offer.

My current WIPs are three post-1918 aircraft - funnily enough all Bristols - and a single "WW1" build, the Roden 1/72 Pfalz D.IIIa. I bought this in 2007 to build as the Viv Bellamy-built replica from The Blue Max and did several mods to it using the real machine as a reference, but it sat for a while. I'm now well into it once more and debating hand-painting the lozenge, buying an Encore kit to raid the decals, or finding second-hand ones...I'll post a photo or two this weekend, including the mods based on ZK-JPI I've done.

I've already posted once or twice so I figured I should show my face. I look forward to interacting with everyone and - all going well - sharing a build or two of my own.
« Last Edit: April 29, 2015, 11:40:24 AM by KiwiZac »
Zac in NZ

Offline Alexis

• Love the self
Re: A new Kiwi says hello