Author Topic: Scratchbuilding/kitbashing Gloster Sparrowhawk  (Read 1694 times)

Offline sisko

Scratchbuilding/kitbashing Gloster Sparrowhawk
« on: March 14, 2014, 08:39:17 AM »
Hi guys,

I'm new here and I thought that maybe someone can help me with this. I'd like to build a Gloster Sparrowhawk (a development of the Nieuport Nighthawk) in service with the Imperial Japanese Navy circa 1920. The scale will be 1/72. As far as I know, there is no kit of the subject. Well, maybe there was an old vac, but it's virtually impossible to find.

I have scratchbuilt other subjects (never planes though) or done some pretty complex conversions (including planes) and I'm a fairly skilled modeler (entered and won at several IPMS nationals a while ago, lots of trophies in my man-cave...) But I'm not exactly an expert on biplanes and I certainly would prefer to convert something instead of scratchbuilding everything (I don't want this project to take forever and too much of my limited energy...) I've already bought Windsock Datafile #160, so I have all the reference and drawings I need.

So, my question to you biplane experts is this: is there a kit of a similar subject that I can convert? Or can I kitbash a Sparrowhawk using, for example, the wings from this plane, the fuselage from this other etc.?

I know this is not WWI proper, so forgive me if my post may be a bit off-topic, but I thought this forum is probably my best bet.
« Last Edit: March 14, 2014, 09:00:02 AM by sisko »

Offline Bluesfan

• MW Miniature Work
Re: Scratchbuilding/kitbashing Gloster Sparrowhawk
« Reply #1 on: March 15, 2014, 02:51:33 AM »
Maybe start with a Grebe fuselage? Merlin made one, but it's fairly basic and you might just as well scratch it.
I see the Japanese plane was fitted with a Bentley BR.2, I thought Small Stuff were going to make one in 1/72 but I may be imagining that, I've just looked at their news page and there's no mention of such.

Sorry, this isn't much help, but good luck :)

Mark