Author Topic: [Question] Suggest on an airplane to build and other questions.  (Read 1217 times)

Offline blubasso

[Question] Suggest on an airplane to build and other questions.
« on: January 26, 2014, 09:41:46 PM »
Hello,
my first question: since I am not experienced enough as WW1 or Pre-WW1 model-builder i ask your help. I'd like to build something relatively easy, in 1/48 scale, because for my first one or two models i don't want to become mad, with all those cables and little cables.

Practically speaking ("writing" in this case), i need to understand well how "work" the WW1 planes. I have of course some knowledge of avionics in general but the solutions of WW1 are still obscure to me: is there also a book or website wich explanes well these stuffs? Plz, not physics formulas: i am a modeler, not a 1/1 scale plane builder... ;)
Same for the engines: if i want to build a decent engine i need to know how engine works, i know the theory, because i have car drive license but, in exemple, i dunno how radial engine are made in detail...

Thanx for the very appreciate help!  :)

P.S. If you find on my writings some really bad, as grammar, please don't hesitate to tell me. I swear i will not offend me...  :D
« Last Edit: January 26, 2014, 09:47:44 PM by blubasso »
If it's made from wood and canvas and flies, it's my friend. And the friends of my friend are my friends too

Offline Nigel Jackson

Re: [Question] Suggest on an airplane to build and other questions.
« Reply #1 on: January 26, 2014, 11:15:19 PM »
Hello blubasso.

Your questions are ones we've all had to face at some time or another and you've come to the perfect place for help.

My advice would be that, if you're looking at 1/48 scale and a preference for something without too much rigging, try the Eduard 'Weekend edition' version of the Fokker Dr.1 triplane. Their 'Weekend edition' range offers the benefit of being a simpler build and cheaper.