Author Topic: Fixing pastels?  (Read 8584 times)

Offline phs Paddy

Fixing pastels?
« on: April 18, 2012, 12:32:54 AM »

After applying pastels as a dust or wash what is your method of choice for fixing the area? There maybe applications where the preference is not to fix.  I’m new at this and would appreciate any guidance or suggestions.

Thanks for your time.  :)

Paddy
In mathematics you don't understand things, you just get use to them. Johann von Neumann 1903-1957

Offline ta152c

• My threads are doing iron man numbers
Re: Fixing pastels?
« Reply #1 on: April 18, 2012, 12:46:08 AM »
Some modellers spray them with matt varnish.
"I hope he burned all the way down" - Mannock on hearing of the death of Manfred Von Richthofen, 1918.

Offline phs Paddy

« Reply #2 on: April 18, 2012, 12:54:28 AM »
Thanks for that David.

Paddy
In mathematics you don't understand things, you just get use to them. Johann von Neumann 1903-1957

Offline Chris Johnson

« Reply #3 on: April 18, 2012, 01:03:46 AM »
I used good old Testor's Dullcote on mine Paddy, and it worked well.

Cheers,

Chris
You can have it good; You can have it fast; you can have it cheap. Pick any two, but all three are impossible.

Offline Ian from Doncaster

« Reply #4 on: April 18, 2012, 01:57:03 AM »
A spray of matt varnish or a carefully brushed on coat of Klear - the latter is ok if the pastels are brushed into the paint well, especially if the base paint is matt and provides a good key for the pastels.

Offline coyotemagic

• "Here's to not buggering it up." -Winston Chuchill
    • My Models
« Reply #5 on: April 18, 2012, 06:27:45 AM »