Author Topic: How to weather with oil washes?  (Read 1264 times)

Offline FokkerFodder

How to weather with oil washes?
« on: February 20, 2013, 04:54:07 PM »
Hi - as a newbie I feel I can ask a couple of very dumb questions without too much shame!! I have a couple of builds under my belt and like a fairly weathered look ( I imagine these bags of wood, string and linen aged fast!). My attempts however are fraught with danger as my oil washes which seek to bring out surface detail, panel lines etc often seem to act more like a spray of concentrated acid on my paint job - not the look I'm after!  I use acryalics and coat with matt/gloss (again acryalics) etc but I wonder whether there is something I'm missing in terms of protecting the paint from the wash, or am I just too heavy handed!

cheers for any help....

Offline gcn

Re: How to weather with oil washes?
« Reply #1 on: February 20, 2013, 06:51:35 PM »
Indeed pictures would be useful.

From what I understand you are using a wash to create shadows.

Normally you would need an oil based wash quite heavily thinned with thinner ( I use Winsor & Newton oils thinned with their odouless thinner sansadour plus a dash of their drying agent liquin. This can then be applied over an acrylic base and shouldn't harm what you have already done. I'd give the acrylics 24-48 hours to harden first.

Most people say you need a gloos base to apply the wash so you avoid the tide mark effect, but you don't. A flat finish is equally suitable if you lay down some thinner on the area where you are applying the wash and then apply your wash. A gloss surface is easier to manage re clean up though but a cotton bud soaked with thinner soon clears up anything you're not happy with.

From what you say your wash is reacting with the acrylic base so a couple of pictures and a list of the paints etc that have been used would be a useful starting point.

Offline pepperman42

• Sergeant, my brown pants.......