Author Topic: basic clear coating questions  (Read 1593 times)

Offline albireo13

basic clear coating questions
« on: January 17, 2023, 12:05:41 AM »
Being a newbie I plan to use hand brushing with enamel on my first several builds.  First build as an adult so, it will be like starting fresh.
I understand that folks use spray clear coats.   As a kid I never did that.
When do you apply the clear coats? ... over the finished paints? ... after the decals ae applied?
Is a clear coat needed with enamels?

Also, what type of clear coat? ... enamel, lacquer?

Thx.

Offline macsporran

Re: basic clear coating questions
« Reply #1 on: January 17, 2023, 01:03:03 AM »
I suggest you get a bottle of Future/Pledge or similar (Lakeland Quick Shine etc) acrylic floor polish.

You can apply this by brush and it will self level and dry quickly. It seals anything underneath it - acrylic, enamel etc. I'd brush it on before you apply any decals, then again afterwards - thus sealing them in. It sets very thin and you can apply several coats. You can also apply thin washes of black, grey or brown enamel/thinners to pop out panel lines - again sealed over by the polish and you can apply neat thinners to clear up without damaging your main paint finish under the seal.

The overall finish is slightly glossy and at the final stage you can decide whether you want to apply a proprietory varnish. My favourite is Winsor & Newton Galeria (Matt, Gloss & Satin) but there are lots of alternatives.
HTH
Sandy

Offline albireo13

« Reply #2 on: January 17, 2023, 01:11:29 AM »
Thanks.  I'll look for Future/Pledge.

BTW, why do you put it on before the decal?
Do folks apply a spray lacquer on top, for a matte finish?
Not sure if a semi-gloss would look good on a plane.

Offline macsporran

« Reply #3 on: January 17, 2023, 01:42:39 AM »
Hey