Author Topic: Revell 1/48 S.E.5a  (Read 4021 times)

Offline Early Bird Fan

Revell 1/48 S.E.5a
« on: July 04, 2021, 08:03:19 PM »
I started this kit a while ago and have been slowly plodding on with the build in the background. This is the Revell edition of the Eduard 1/48 kit, it has some great detail for a 1/48 and the cockpit build has taken me a while to complete. I'm aware the rib stitching/tape is a bit over scale but as a brush painter i tend to lose details (even with thin coats) so i'm happy to not make any changes in these areas and we'll see how it looks once painted. Here's where i'm at so far...

The obligatory box and sprue shots...

I'd started by painting the main parts that make up the cockpit framework, i spent last night removing said parts and assembling them to make up the cockpit framework. I need to add the seatbelt decals then i can fit the seat, there's still a fair few parts that need to go on but this is all i currently have painted. I also need to do some post assembly touch ups but here's what i've got so far

The cockpit floor area is painted and luxuries like rudder pedals and some ammo have been fitted. I took the opportunity while this section was easy to handle to mask the underside of the wing to try for some rib tape effect.

Cockpit tub is nearly complete, next step is to fix it to the lower wing section then fit the gauges etc

I've also got the engine assembled and painted, maybe a surprising lack of detail when compared to the cockpit area and there's plenty of scope for adding wires and hoses. As the only part that will be seen however is the rocker covers i've decided not to waste time adding such details

The cockpit framework is now firmly attached to the wing and all fixtures and fittings are in place. The decal for the gauges isn't the best but once in place it won't really notice. The fit is tighter than trying to get big ben down the westminster tube line but copious amounts of fettling had it fitting quite nicely.