Author Topic: Roden 1/72 Bristol Fighter  (Read 2587 times)

Offline Danh4

Roden 1/72 Bristol Fighter
« on: December 18, 2020, 01:40:14 PM »
Probably the last model I'll get done in 2020.  I've been avoiding this kit in my stash for many years because of the flimsy attachment of the lower wing to the fuselage but it is stronger than it looks and not as hard to get together as I thought it would be.  I used decals from an old Airfix kit rather than struggle with Roden's and rigged it with .005" Nitinol wire.
-Dan

Offline macsporran

Re: Roden 1/72 Bristol Fighter
« Reply #1 on: December 18, 2020, 06:09:41 PM »
Beautifully done. A jewel.
Sandy

Offline acewwi

« Reply #2 on: December 18, 2020, 09:46:59 PM »
Wonderful,  ;) ;)
Dan can you describe to us your experience about Nitinol wire.
Spyros

Offline Danh4

« Reply #3 on: December 19, 2020, 02:25:31 AM »
Wonderful,  ;) ;)
Dan can you describe to us your experience about Nitinol wire.
Spyros
Sure!  If anyone is not familiar with Nitinol wire, it is a "memory" wire which means you can bend it, tie it in a knot, etc. and it will always spring back to straight.  It is a dark brownish gray in color with a slight metallic sheen to it. I've been using it to rig 1/72 biplanes for many years and the process hasn't changed much since I first started.  I use a pair of dividers to determine the length of each wire, then test-fit until the fit is just right- this gets easier with experience!  I cut the wire on a ceramic tile with a regular X-acto blade.  Tiny spots of white glue are then put at each anchor point on the model and the wire is set into place.  You'd be amazed at how strong the attachment is, I've had to use pliers to pull a mis-placed wire off.  The main advantage to rigging this way is that there are no holes to drill and all the rigging can be done after the model is painted and decaled.  Give it a try!
-Dan

Offline lone modeller

« Reply #4 on: December 19, 2020, 02:31:39 AM »