Author Topic: Gotha G IV sale dilemma...  (Read 2474 times)

Offline Tony Haycock

Gotha G IV sale dilemma...
« on: July 02, 2020, 09:57:51 AM »
Sitting on a shelf I have a pure, virginal and never opened WNW Gotha G IV. I bought it because I wanted one, and the intent was to build it, after improving very modest skills on some smaller kits.

To support my habit I am a travel agent and I take small groups to motorsport events in Australia and Europe. With the arrival of COVID19 I haven't been paid since March and who knows when I'll next see any income...

I see some of the crazy prices people are paying for Gothas, and when you convert that from USD to NZD it's even more crazy....

The sensible thing is to put it on Ebay and see what happens... but I never bought this(or any other models) to make a profit from, and its not really the done thing in a hobby like ours... but the Ebay sales are running at close to NZD$1000.00 and that could be quite useful right now.   and then there's the RE8...

Offline Dave W

• Administrator
Re: Gotha G IV sale dilemma...
« Reply #1 on: July 02, 2020, 01:57:11 PM »
Hi Tony... I think quite a few people would share your sentiments right now especially as it's most unlikely we will see the Gotha G.IV reissued.

The big issue for those who have the kit is whether they can bring themselves to make it now, given the crazy prices it's fetching, or do they sell it off to put food on the table?

For buyers who fork out $1000 for a model kit, could they ever make it or are these kits now doomed to wander in model eternity as trading commodities only? That could apply to quite a number of Wingnut kits.

In any normal year I'd say sell the kit and replace it later but this is 2020 and nothing makes any sense now. If money's tight you have a box full of lost income sitting on a shelf doing nothing.

cheers

Dave Wilson ( ex Christchurch)
Gold Coast
Australia
Owner and Administrator of ww1aircraftmodels.com and forum.ww1aircraftmodels.com