Author Topic: 2019 Michael L. Fritz Memorial Award for Excellence in Modeling WW I Aircraft  (Read 669 times)

Offline dr 1 ace

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1869

The 2019 MLF Award winner at the IPMS National Convention In Chattanooga, TN, is Kendal Brown of Plano, Texas. for his 1917 US Navy Gallaudet D-1 in 1/48 Scale.  as previously noted it was also 1st in Category and Overall Best Aircraft in Show.  The MLF AWARD is judged solely by the previous winners .

Pictured below

FIRST 2 PICTURES 2019 Winner:  1/48 scale Scratch-built 1917 US NAVY Gallaudet D-1 by Kendal Brown of Plano, Texas

THIRD PICTURE:   Previous Judges and Kendal ( Previous winners of the MLF  Award are the sole judges) 

 L to R:  Buz Pezold (2008 Kneeling), Ben Guenther (1993 Kneeling).  Standing L to R: Ken Niles (2017), Harvey Low (2009), Bill Powers ( 1999),  Ed Boll (1990), Kendal Brown (2019), Dave Straub (2006), Mark Marez (2007), Ben Fulcher III (2111)  Present but not in picture - Bill Devins (2000)

This was the 30th consecutive year of the award.
« Last Edit: January 17, 2020, 04:34:49 AM by dr 1 ace »
Life is short, enjoy it, nobody gets out alive.


  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 14142
Sorry for the Long delay on posting the photos  :(  Having seen this one in person I can only say it is Brilliant!

"A man has to know his limitations": Harry Callahan

"Don't slop it on" Lynda Geisler

Offline Terri

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4575
Now that is beautiful build ! :)


Offline Berman

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 290
Great model. This was most likely built using the drawings by Paul Matt. WWI Aero Journal also did a series on Galludet aircraft which has useful reference material.