Author Topic: Removing enamal paint  (Read 1243 times)

Offline sobrien

Removing enamal paint
« on: November 16, 2012, 03:40:24 AM »
First let me say that I am a brush painter. I started on my WNW SE5a and am not happy with the paint I was using for CDL. It did not cover thinly enough and is not setting well. Luckily I was only painting the inside of the fuselage. What is the best way to remove the paint without damaging the plastic?

Thanks for any help,

Sean

Offline pepperman42

• Sergeant, my brown pants.......
Re: Removing enamal paint
« Reply #1 on: November 16, 2012, 04:18:10 AM »
Hmmm....enamel does etch into the plastic a bit so Im thinking letting it cure then sanding lightly. Oven cleaner I think was another option but Im going to let someone else confirm that.

Steve

Offline Des

• Administrator
    • ww1aircraftmodels.com
« Reply #2 on: November 16, 2012, 05:35:37 AM »
Have a look at the link below Sean, it may give you some good ideas, read the entire link as there are quite a few different techniques mentioned.

Des.

http://www.therpf.com/f11/how-remove-enamel-paints-plastic-kits-149695/
« Last Edit: November 16, 2012, 05:37:13 AM by Des »
Late Founder of ww1aircraftmodels.com and forum.ww1aircraftmodels.com

Offline sobrien

« Reply #3 on: November 16, 2012, 06:16:20 AM »
Thank you Des and Steve for your help.

Sean

Offline ETG

« Reply #4 on: December 20, 2012, 05:23:53 AM »
What's easier than oven cleaner? Never fails.
Just remember it's dangerous stuff. Wear long rubber gloves and a mask. You do NOT want to inhale this stuff..!!
Take a strong, leak proof plastic bag, insert a good squirt of oven cleaner, put the model in the bag, and cover the model
in OC. Leave overnight.
(Edit: while the model soaks, keep the bag closed with a rubber band or clothes pin)
Put your gloves back on and take the model out. Rince, while rubbing with a large brush. You'll see the paint just flow
away while the plastic is totally unharmed.