Author Topic: WNW Fokker EIII Kurt Von Crailsheim  (Read 8673 times)

Offline mgunns

WNW Fokker EIII Kurt Von Crailsheim
« on: July 28, 2014, 05:45:15 AM »
Greetings all:

This summer I have been putzing on the WNW Fokker E.II/E.III.  I was going to do one in Udets markings, and then Richtoffen and then Immelman's, but; they are all green, so I decided to do this one in the Fokker Beige in Von Crailsheim's markings.   Kurt got into flying after being wounded in the infantry, according the WNW instructions and interesting facts, he had one victory.  He had two crashes the final one would prove fatal as he succumbed to his injuries 5 days later.  It is suspected that this is the one he flew.  Either way, I like the scheme and the markings.

The box:

The model I will be doing

I really wanted to do an Eindecker as it is a significant aircraft in the history of the Great War and aviation.  I wanted to work on the 'swirls' effect.  I studied other builds here, Umlaufmotor is a great teacher, and decided, "what the heck" let's go!  So I followed the WNW tutorial for doing the swirls, but didn't have any luck with the silver paint, so I used plain old Testors what used to be sold as "PLA" enamel.  I started on the cheek panels.

Cowling:

And moving on to the side panels on the fuselage.  Alone they aren't impressive, but when on the model as a whole they look pretty good.

As has been mentioned before by those who have done this, critical to the success of 'swirling' is to keep the brush clean, once you get going you get a feel for the way paint flows and can pretty much figure out when it is time to clean the brush.  I just used random squiggles, "C"'s and mixed them altogether.  I am pretty happy with the overall effect.

After that, I moved on to the interior.  More excitement as it occurs, so stay tuned folks!

Best

Mark
« Last Edit: July 28, 2014, 07:02:05 AM by mgunns »
Mark

We few, we happy few.....

Offline mgunns

Re: WNW Fokker EIII Kurt Von Crailsheim