Poll

When choosing a WWI aircraft to model, the thing that matters most to me is:

An interesting marking or color scheme.
The history of the pilot or squadron.

Author Topic: What drives your choice of subject matter?  (Read 2832 times)

Offline Matt Parvis

Re: What drives your choice of subject matter?
« Reply #15 on: January 20, 2015, 10:59:17 PM »
For me, the particular aircraft is the more important aspect.  That's not to say I don't care about the history, it's just that all of the history is endlessly fascinating to me, so, it can be a secondary consideration, if that makes any sense?

Also, another big factor for choice of subject is what I find cheap from vendors at model shows!  ;D

Matt
We won't bring the muskets, we won't cause the pain,
But we're good for some headaches, and tough to clean stains.

Offline Thumbs up

« Reply #16 on: January 20, 2015, 11:22:57 PM »
As an artist, I'm a visual person and am drawn to the looks of an airplane first and foremost. In fact, I usually don't even know anything about the pilot or much of the history of a particular plane. I'm very interested in the history as a whole of WW1 aircraft and the evolution of each type. I don't know if that makes me shallow, but I see nothing wrong with appreciating something purely on aesthetics.

I'm a bit unusual though. I actually prefer drab colors. PC10, CDL -especially where the ribs show through. Even with the wild German colors I prefer the more muted tones on some Fokker D.VIIs, etc., and the Albatros with mostly varnished wood fuselages. Somehow, models with good weathering, drab colors and natural wood, cloth, and metal surfaces look much more realistic to my eye. Although to the credit of the amazing modelers here, many of the brightly colored and unusual schemes have been successfully accomplished.

I'm an artist (painter) to,and I whole heartedly agree.Bright is not best,but to fool the brain on a subconscious level is our ultimate goal.