Author Topic: Rigging interiors  (Read 5530 times)

Offline ericw43

Rigging interiors
« on: June 12, 2012, 01:09:02 PM »
After many years I have started to build models again....and I am glad to have done so. Presently, I am building the Tamiya A6M5 Type 52 Zero kit in 1/32 scale. So far it has been fun and easy as long as I take my time:)

Previosuly my father and I have built wooden ship models. We only completed two of them due to the time it takes to build them. Airbrushing is new to me and I have two airbrushes (Badger 150 and an Iwata Eclipse HP CS). I purchased these two airbrushes three years ago and practiced with them for many weeks by painting cardboard and tin cans but I am still no expert by any means. Techniques such as applying washes, paint fading/sun fading, Phot Etched, weathering and even decal application are all new to me. So far with the Tamiya Zero kit, all painting done with the airbrushes has turned out rather well. I applied washes with Wndsor and Newton Artist oil colors and it turned out according to plan! :) Even applying decals has been succesful by using Micro Sol and Micro Set.  I am learning that thinning paint ratios with solvents and applying the correct PSI is paramount to achieving success. I have also learned that the same holds true for brush painting.

Due to happily getting back into this interesting hobby, I am considering what to build next. The kits from Wing Nut Wings have garnered my attention and interest. I have also been looking at a 1/32 SBD Dauntless kit from Trumpeter.

Wing Nut Wings allows users to download instructions directly from their website. I downloaded many of these instructions to read the steps involved in creating the kits. This website has alos provided me with an abundance of information regarding rigging exteriors, making exteriors, painting wood grain effects, etc.