Author Topic: WnW Fokker D.VII F (501/18 "Red W")  (Read 14700 times)

Offline BigBlue

WnW Fokker D.VII F (501/18 "Red W")
« on: July 26, 2014, 04:25:00 AM »
Hello All,

As I mentioned in my post in the Group Build rules thread, I am a relative newbie to WWI aircraft modeling, so it I am both nervous and excited to join all you talented modelers with my attempt at "Red W".

I have a E.II/III on my table at the moment which I will need to work through prior to starting this build in earnest, so it will be a few weeks before I start posting any legitimate updates.  I am really looking forward to it.

I plan on using the fantastic looking Aviattic tailored-set decals for the lozenges, which brings me to my first request for guidance from those here who know more than I.  The box cover art shows the aircraft with lilac rib taping, but the kit's decals use lozenge tape. (They do include tapes for certain schemes, but they are yellow/linen rather than lilac.)  My question is which was more likely?

As I understand it, the tape color was correlated to the aircraft's manufacturer, and I have been assuming that the F aircraft were produced directly by Fokker.  Wouldn't this indicate lozenge tapes (in keeping with the kit's provided decals?)  The reference photos I have seen of this aircraft don't show the wing surfaces clearly enough to tell.  So with the caveat that we don't really know for sure, what would an educated guess point towards?

Thanks for any help (and to both Des for organizing, and the generosity of those providing the prizes!),

Chris

Offline kornbeef

• U.K. Carpet monster genocide squad leader.
Re: WnW Fokker D.VII F (501/18 "Red W")
« Reply #1 on: July 26, 2014, 05:24:02 AM »
Nice choice. I think you surmise pretty well, I'm sure the rib tapes WNW dictate are the safest bet. the purple on the box top illustration sure look dapper tho  ;D there again that could just be my tired eyes playin trix

Never too old to learn sumfink noo

Offline Snowy