Author Topic: Latorre Models British Pilot 54mm  (Read 3987 times)

sixtygp

Latorre Models British Pilot 54mm
« on: January 25, 2014, 02:00:11 PM »
Hello
New member here.  I posted a few times at the Aerodrome a few years ago.  I am primarily a figure modeler, but do have a WNW kit lingering... buy my figure work seems to take the front seat... 
Here is a figure I did a while back.  Its listed as 54mm, but is actually taller, so it probably wouldn't do in a diorama unless you are using forced perspective.  Its painted with acrylics.

Matt Wellhouser

Offline Des

• Administrator
    • ww1aircraftmodels.com
Re: Latorre Models British Pilot 54mm
« Reply #1 on: January 25, 2014, 02:03:55 PM »
Welcome to the forum Matt and what an entrance you have made, that figure painting is amazing, I would love to see more of your work is possible.

Des.
Late Founder of ww1aircraftmodels.com and forum.ww1aircraftmodels.com

Offline RAGIII

« Reply #2 on: January 25, 2014, 02:17:06 PM »
Matt,
Welcome and it is nice to see such a beautifully painted figure by a Real Figure Painter versus my meager efforts as a sideline to my Models! It seems we are Polar opposites  ;D  Any tips you can give here are really welcomed. Please feel free to constructively  critique any figures I have posted and have underway. I know all of the other Aircraft builders will appreciate any help we can get!
RAGIII

PS: Do you use similar methods to dave Maddox, airbrush base, shadow and highlight, then glazes?
« Last Edit: January 25, 2014, 02:41:46 PM by RAGIII »
"A man has to know his limitations": Harry Callahan

"Don't slop it on" Lynda Geisler

sixtygp

« Reply #3 on: January 25, 2014, 04:22:24 PM »
Thanks for the nice comments.  To answer the questions-
On figures this small, I only prime them with the airbrush.  The color is brush work.  On large figures- 120mm+ I sometimes use the air brush for some of the color. 
To see more of my figure work, check my web page. 
http://custmini.blogspot.com/