Author Topic: Question about "Roden" kits.............( ?? )  (Read 1104 times)

Offline olfogey

• Jim J. -- "Great Plains", U.S.A.
Question about "Roden" kits.............( ?? )
« on: November 28, 2013, 03:55:59 AM »
Note to Moderator: Didn't know for sure where to put this, if in wrong place, feel free to move or delete.

I'm curious about the quality of "Roden" 1/32 WWI aircraft kits............being a novice, I only just heard about them.
OK for a novice?? Nice build?? U.S. Distributor??

Thanks for any help..............Jim J. -- "olfogey"

Offline uncletony

• Aircraft In Pixels
Re: Question about "Roden" kits.............( ?? )
« Reply #1 on: November 28, 2013, 04:22:11 AM »
Hi Jim,

Before WNW came along, Roden was widely considered the gold standard of 1/32 WWI plastic kits. Few would argue WNW has since raised the bar. In general, compared to WNW,  the moldings are not as crisp, the surface as detailed or the fit as good. The subjects I have spent the most time studying -- the Dr.1 & the various Albatrosen -- each have a few rather glaring errors but the in general the outlines are correct and the detail is pretty good. There is no doubt they can be built into great models.

Some recent build logs should give you a feel for what you are in for:

Nieuport 24bis by Paolo

Albatros D.III by Paolo  Certainly check this one out; Paolo has a few photos early on which compare key sprue items between WNW & Roden.

Nieuport 27 E by Bob

Offline Nigel Jackson

« Reply #2 on: November 28, 2013, 04:28:36 AM »
Hi Jim

Interesting questions. While it can come down to a matter of personal preference, I sense the consensus to be that they are a  very mixed bunch.  Their Fokker triplane stacks up quite well but some of the later models have disappointed.