Author Topic: Hi. Newbie needs advice.  (Read 2148 times)

Offline wooster

Hi. Newbie needs advice.
« on: November 22, 2016, 06:37:05 AM »
Hi All
I’m out of my comfort-zone here. I’m a railway modeller who fancies a change and I thought I’d give 1/32 WW1 aircraft a try. So where’s a good place to start? I thought about the Roden SE 5a w/ Wolseley Viper. Then I settled on the Italeri Sopwith Camel until I saw several nice looking Nieuports from various manufactures. As I’m a novice (at biplanes anyway) I’d rather not spend a lot of money and then find it isn’t for me. Any advice you can give would be greatly appreciated.
Cheers
Rich

Offline RAGIII

Re: Hi. Newbie needs advice.
« Reply #1 on: November 22, 2016, 07:13:32 AM »
Welcome to the Forum. I agree with Justin on this one. The WNW kits are extremely well engineered and make things like mounting wings far easier to accomplish. If you are set on a NIeuport go with the Special Hobby kit. It is somewhat better than the others, IMHO.
You will find all of the support you need right here on these pages.
RAGIII
"A man has to know his limitations": Harry Callahan

"Don't slop it on" Lynda Geisler

Offline Des

• Administrator
    • ww1aircraftmodels.com
« Reply #2 on: November 22, 2016, 07:46:53 AM »
Hello Rich and welcome to the forum. I will echo what has already been said, very good advice from two excellent modelers.

Des.
Late Founder of ww1aircraftmodels.com and forum.ww1aircraftmodels.com

Offline lcarroll

• Administrator
« Reply #3 on: November 22, 2016, 08:10:24 AM »
Justin has it right, Rich. It's worth a few extra $ to optimise your experience entering a new genre, and as he says you are almost guaranteed a nice experience, the Kits are that good. The others are not horrible, but a little experience prior to tackling them will go a long way to your continued enjoyment of the WWI Aircraft Model experience.
Cheers,
Lance

Offline wooster

« Reply #4 on: November 22, 2016, 08:35:56 AM »