Author Topic: Nieuport 21 N2453 - Donat Makijonek - 7 IAO spring 1917 - CSM 1/32  (Read 8449 times)

Offline Boch

Hello,

I'd like to say hello to everyone. This is my first post on this forum. So far, I've made only a few models from the period of World War II, to be precise, all five, although all in 1/32 scale. Therefore, I am a beginner modeller, and this forum is recommended as the best on the subject of the beginning of aviation, so I decided to present the construction of the first model from this period. I am preparing for a large project related to World War I machines and gaining experience.

For some time I have been preparing to expand the scope of modeling activities. The period of the Great War became for me not so much a goal as a stop for further travel, but before I talk about where this journey is to end, I will stop at the fronts of the Great War, at least for some time.

Donat Makijonek is an extraordinary character, so unusual that without a doubt the life and activity of this pilot deserves at least a few models. This time, however, I will focus on the second period of his aviation career, of course calculated in a completely conventional way. A Pole in the service of the tsar, he was one of the thousands of Poles for whom the outbreak of war marked a new reality in the armies of the partitioning powers. From the end of the 18th century, Poland was erased from the map. Torn and divided by Prussia, Russia and Austria. The outbreak of war often meant a fratricidal fight between Poles incorporated by force into foreign armies. The tragedy of the Polish nation will have an unusual finale in the very life of Makijonek.

Sebastian Łydżba