Author Topic: I am new at this and I could use some painting advice Academy Sopwith Camel  (Read 1164 times)

Offline PetworthPilot

OK, I did this as a kid like many of us here. I have been building stick and tissue planes and buildings for my model trolley layout for the last 10 years so I am not a complete stranger. I bought Testors because that what we did in 1974 besides trying to get Topps baseball card #1 which portrayed the likeness of the new homerun king Henry Aaron.  Now the wing bottoms of my precious Academy Sopwith Camel look like a school bus. Would the Red Baron come to a complete stop when the bus did to let the school children out?

Serously, can I cover the Testors with some Acrylic?  The Testors is difficult to deal with if you are shooting it with a airbrush and difficult (and expensive) to clean up afterwards.  Can I use other thinners  besides the Testors? Should I use up my remaining supply of Testors never to return?  Should I responsibly dispose of them today and write them as a loss? 

Today was my first time using an airbrush and other than the fact that the wings I painted would make great bicycle reflectors due to their hue I am happy with the way they came out.  I now see some areas which I could take away with sanding and that I can add/repair with some putty.

Love reading about everyone's adventures.
« Last Edit: October 10, 2022, 11:22:52 PM by PetworthPilot »
Fan of scale models either static, RC, or rubber powered.

Online DaddyO

Re: I am new at this and I could use some painting advice
« Reply #1 on: October 04, 2022, 05:39:55 PM »
Morning and welcome onboard  :)

I'm afraid I can't answer about Testors specifically since I've never used it, but in general 'oil base' paints these days are changing to polymers rather than true oils which makes them a different kettle of fish to those we used to use (As a signwriter by trade I still bemoan the loss of my beloved 1Shot enamels)

A few general hints might be helpful.