Author Topic: PC10 Paint Question/Questions  (Read 1123 times)

Online James

PC10 Paint Question/Questions
« on: June 02, 2022, 12:34:59 AM »
Don't want to open a can of worms, what color/colors do y'all use for PC10? Is there a PC10 paint or if not, what colors do you all mix to get a PC10 color? I'm a brush painter and want to start the Wingnut Sopwith Triplane.

James
Axes Grind and Maces Clash

Offline macsporran

Re: PC10 Paint Question/Questions
« Reply #1 on: June 02, 2022, 12:59:38 AM »
Depends where you are and what's locally available, James.
Back before I had a spray booth and could use an airbrush I'd brush paint with Humbrol enamels or various Xtracolour, Revell Aqua, or Vallejo paints.
PC10 could appear a different shade according to how the lamp black and yellow ochre were mixed so a range of colours is easily possible.
I've always leant towards a brownish shade after reading so many biographies mentioning brown RFC aircraft, so Humbrol 98 Chocolate was a popular starting point for me mixed with a little 155 olive drab or lighter green. Attached an Eduard Triplane  painted with 98/155. Nobody will shoot you down though for opting for somewhere in the brown-green spectrum.
HTH
Sandy

Online James

« Reply #2 on: June 02, 2022, 01:10:27 AM »
Thank you so much Sandy. Just ordered those two Humbrol colors and your Eduard Triplane looks amazing my friend. Your PC10 color looks amazing as well. How much do you mix of each color?

James

Offline macsporran

« Reply #3 on: June 02, 2022, 01:33:14 AM »
Experiment a little James - the original colours were mixed in batches and could vary quite widely - get a shade that you are happy with and go with it, I'd suggest.
When you take into account how the strong French sunshine would affect the tones it really gives you a wide palate to work with.