Author Topic: New WWI model builder from Canada  (Read 1675 times)

Offline cecil

New WWI model builder from Canada
« on: September 26, 2021, 12:14:51 AM »
Hello all!

I am a brand new to this forum and am a bit overwhelmed by the expertise :-|. A bit of background, I am an engineer by background, university professor and business owner (medical).  During COVID, I found an old Sopwith Camel model that my wife had given to me for Christmas some 20 years ago when I told her that one of my great pleasures as a youth was building model airplanes.  It had been gathering dust in the attic so I proceeded to build it the "old fashioned way" using enamel paints, brushes, sewing thread for rigging etc.  It was awful(!), but highly enjoyable :-) I decided that I should upgrade both my skills and technology and am now a competent airbrusher and learning weathering techniques, etc. (you can see what I'm working on at scalemates - cecil). I also was pleased (at the time) to see that there was a company called Wingnut Wings that had some beautiful WWI models, which I planned to order when they came back from their COVID-19 break :-(.  Long story short, when I realized that they were no longer in business, I proceeded to scoured the world for hobby shops that still had inventory...purchasing 25 kits :-|  Anyway...that's my condensed story.

One question for the forum.  I'm traveling to see my daughter at Oxford, UK in October.  I will be spending some time in London, Oxford and Cardiff.  I'm open to any suggestions for cool hobby shops, WWI aircraft museums, book shops that have WWI aircraft collections or any other points of interest for someone that is quickly becoming serious about the hobby.

Thanks and I'll look forward to your thoughts...Cecil

Offline ColonelKrypton

Re: New WWI model builder from Canada
« Reply #1 on: September 26, 2021, 12:57:43 AM »
Welcome Cecil, It is nice to see another Canadian on the forum.