Author Topic: Gotha cammo question  (Read 3135 times)

Offline zavod44

Gotha cammo question
« on: January 07, 2013, 09:16:35 AM »
Okay, as some of you know I am new to WW I aircraft.  I have some questions.  Let me set up the whole scenario...I have the WNW Gotha.  I am really in love with the purple and blue.  I was all set to do "Morotas".  However I just got the Pheon decal set.  There are two different sets on that sheet that are for blue/purple planes.  Originally (a year ago) one of those airplanes, "Lori2" was shown as a LVG built plane in Blue and purple.  Now that it came out, the actual sheet shows it as a Gotha built, just plain blue paint scheme.  I have heard one of the guys at WNW had info that changed "Lori2" to a Gotha built.  I'm wondering what that info was.  Are there more pictures of "Lori2" Also can a Gotha built plane be blue and purple?  I want to make things as accurate as possible but it seems like those photos of "Lori2" are very hard to see exactly what it is painted like.  As I said I would really like to do a blue and purple plane.  Did Gotha paint dark planes in two colors?  Did they only paint blue and no purple?  Just trying to figure out what I'm gonna do...before I get to far.  Can anyone shed light on this?

Brian

Offline zavod44

Re: Gotha cammo question
« Reply #1 on: January 14, 2013, 12:53:41 PM »
Okay lets make it a little easier...did Gotha built G IV's ever get painted in Mauve and Blue?

Brian

Offline zavod44

« Reply #2 on: January 17, 2013, 08:52:27 AM »
Well I was looking through the Gotha G IV instruction sheet and they have this picture of a Gotha built G IV and it seems to have some sort of camouflage on it.  What color do we think this plane is painted in?  Most of them seem to be either a very light whitish blue, or painted in night fighting colors.  Were they painted in other colors?