Author Topic: Hello, I'm a returning WWI 1/72 modeler from Spokane, Washington, USA  (Read 1429 times)

Starfire94C

Hello,

I am a life-long modeler, though the last WWI aircraft I built was in 1999. I don't know why I left it, but I'm really getting back into the genre. My favorite aircraft is the Fokker D.VII, followed by the Gotha bombers, of which I'm currently working on Roden's G.Va. I'm very excited about the quality of the available models (much better than the late '90s!), and especially the incredible decals, such as Aviattic.

I hope to learn much from this forum and the wonderful expertise that resides here, just please be patient with me as I haven't studied WWI aviation as much as most of you, so I may ask some pretty rookie questions.

I've attached some pictures of my last WWI build from 1999, my 1/72 Eduard Stripdown Sopwith Camel,  it has survived remarkably well considering it suffered four moves overseas and back to the US mainland while I was in the USAF. I added a great deal of internal detail and all internal rigging (beyond what Eduard provide). I scratchbuilt the stripdown Snoopy and doghouse, and yes, they are scaled to 1/72. Don't look to hard at Snoopy, or you will see he has only four ribs, ha!