Author Topic: Modeling club bias against WWI aircraft?  (Read 3169 times)

Offline boggie

Re: Modeling club bias against WWI aircraft?
« Reply #15 on: March 17, 2016, 07:54:54 PM »
Would Leonardo Da Vinci join a modelling club?

Why would he, there was no competition :) :)

Des.

But didn't he allegadly say, art is never finished, only abandoned.

Only his self criticism was relevant. 

So why would he join an art competition?

Of course he wouldn't.

It's quite apparent that there is quite a bit of Leo's attitude here.

And that is a huge positive!

JMHO  of course  :)

Offline dr 1 ace

« Reply #16 on: March 18, 2016, 07:07:51 AM »
When it comes to clubs I take the same opinion as that of Graucho Marx.  ;D

For those not old enough:

I don't care to belong to a club that accepts people like me as members.
Life is short, enjoy it, nobody gets out alive.

Offline RAGIII

« Reply #17 on: March 18, 2016, 08:00:02 AM »
I have had some experience with IPMS clubs having founded a couple of chapters myself. ( Flight 19 in the Ft. Lauderdale Fl. area is still alive and well) My experience with "Local competitions, especially anything Monthly, is that there were never enough Models to break down into appropriate categories. Therefore things tended to go in LARGE groups, Prop Aircraft, Armor, Jet Aircraft, Vehicles etc. So the more familiar the subject, and most of all the flashiest WOW models, tended to win. By familiar I mean Bf109s, Mustangs, German Armor etc. No real prejudice they just judged what they understood :-)
RAGIII
"A man has to know his limitations": Harry Callahan

"Don't slop it on" Lynda Geisler

Offline Des

• Administrator
    • ww1aircraftmodels.com
« Reply #18 on: March 18, 2016, 08:40:50 AM »
I have found a very simple solution to avoid the bias at modelling clubs, I don't join any and I never enter any competitions, problem solved.

Des.
Late Founder of ww1aircraftmodels.com and forum.ww1aircraftmodels.com

Offline Alexis

• Love the self