Author Topic: Building question  (Read 841 times)

Offline nmroberto

Building question
« on: July 01, 2014, 12:23:36 AM »
Hope everyone isn't getting tired of my flood of questions, hopefully you pros will have the answer for me. 

OK, here we go.....  As I said before I'm very new at building WW I models, all my previous experience has been in WW II and modern ac and some armor.  Those models aren't covered with decals.

How do you guys attach things like wing struts, and other little pieces after you have applied lozenge decals all over the surfaces?

Do you cut out the decals from the areas where things get glued after the decal has been applied? If that's the way it's done, how do you get a nice tidy place to attach the part without having to do a bunch of touch up?
Robert

Offline Ian from Doncaster

Re: Building question
« Reply #1 on: July 01, 2014, 01:03:19 AM »
Again like many things, there will be as many solutions as modellers!

Some kits come with pre-shaped lozenge decal sections with holes in place for struts etc.  This I assume (I haven't yet used such) would also help with positioning the decals, by lining up the holes with strut locations, plus the strut brackets etc can be pre-painted before applying the decals.

Whilst no way a pro, I have sometimes pre-painted the bracket areas, then trimmed the decal with a sharp blade after applying over the whole surface.  Where struts appear to disappear into the wings without any brackets on the wing surface, I have punched the strut end into its location through the decal - just need to be extra careful with glue!

Offline coyotemagic

• "Here's to not buggering it up." -Winston Chuchill
    • My Models
« Reply #2 on: July 01, 2014, 01:33:26 AM »