Author Topic: Sopwith Pup / British a/c in general pully inspection panel question  (Read 1087 times)

Offline jknaus

Okay as I am new to this subject I have some questions about the pully inspection panels on a/c like the Pup and SE 5a. I saw a thread on the SE 5a and am looking at the Pup and wondering why. Why is there a clear covering? Did these fail regularily enough that a regular removeable inspection panel was too much trouble? Is there a clear panel on the top and bottom of the wing? How would they be attached, sewn on or screwed in? Are the pulleys black like other fittings? Are they on all British a/c? I dont think I've seen them on German a/c but maybe I am missing something.
A lot of whys I know but I'm trying to understand the what where whys of this.
Thanks in advance to anyone who can explaing this to me.
James

WarrenD

Re: Sopwith Pup / British a/c in general pully inspection panel question
« Reply #1 on: March 01, 2015, 12:40:21 AM »
A good and fair question James. I'm still ingesting my morning caffeine, so y'all forgive me if my answer contains errors.  ;)

As best as I remember, without digging through my books, the panels were screwed on. (They sure didn't use buttons, zippers, snaps, nor were they a press-fit as I recall.) They serve the purpose as their name implies: they are there to inspect the control cables and pulleys. As I see it, trying to see it from their perspective, anytime you have a cable making a ninety degree turn through a pulley, you run the risk of abrasion, wear and tear, etc.  Understand, heavier-than-air aviation is less than twenty years old at this point, and some things are still being worked out.