Poll

Do you have a favorite scale? If so what is your preferred scale?

1:32
31 (54.4%)
1:48
17 (29.8%)
1:72
8 (14%)
Other (please explain)
1 (1.8%)

Total Members Voted: 52

Author Topic: What's Your Favorite Scale  (Read 3541 times)

Offline skeeterbuck

What's Your Favorite Scale
« on: December 29, 2012, 12:08:09 AM »
I have been a WWI aircraft modeler since I was a child. (many years ago). I started with the Aurora kits that I sure many of the older builders here remember fondly. I recently saw a fellow WWI modeler and he inquired what I was "working on"? I told him that I was looking to start on the Fly Roland D-VI b kit. He recommended that I look into the WNW kit as it was a beautiful kit with excellent instructions etc.

Now I know that from all the reviews and builds I have seen of the WNW kits, that what my fellow modeler says is true. For me though 1:32 scale is just too big. I much prefer 1:48 as the ideal size for most aircraft. This has got me thinking as to what is currently the most popular scale? Just for the record, I have built kits in 1:72 and 1:32, but my first love is 1:48 scale.

Dekenba

Re: What's Your Favorite Scale
« Reply #1 on: December 29, 2012, 02:32:44 AM »
Are there scales other than 1/32?!

Offline uncletony

• Aircraft In Pixels
« Reply #2 on: December 29, 2012, 04:04:11 AM »
I would've chosen 1/24th but it's not a viable option for WWI. (!/16th is, sorta... but anyway...) Not just 'cause my eyes are getting old and hands not as steady as they once were either. I always liked the big scales... -- always been interested in the details, always wanted to read the gauges, etc.

Loved the Airfix 1/24th kits when I was a kid -- the hurricane, Spit I, 109E and Mustang were epic builds for me.

Offline Des

• Administrator
    • ww1aircraftmodels.com
« Reply #3 on: December 29, 2012, 09:17:35 AM »