Author Topic: Hello from Chicago!  (Read 1103 times)

Offline Procopius

Hello from Chicago!
« on: September 20, 2013, 10:18:40 AM »
Hi there! My name's Edward, and I'm thirty. I live north of Chicago, and I've been building models for about three years, and I'm still not very good. I'm not letting that stop me, though, because my lack of quality enables me to build in quantity: I average about a model every three weeks. So there's that.

Anyway, I decided that messing up WWII and modern aircraft kits wasn't enough for me, and I'm going to build some WWI birds. I only work in 1/72, so this is really a march of folly. I haven't ever rigged before, either, and I'm filled with fear!

Anyway, since I mainly build RAF/RFC/Fleet Air Arm/RNAS aircraft or aircraft of their contemptible foes, the first four kits I've purchased are two Eduard DH2s (my favorite early-war plane for looks) and two Roden Wolseley Viper-engined S.E. 5as. I have no idea what I'm doing. I'm not even sure what acrylic paints to get, or the best way to paint these guys.
"Kill the sods, the Hunnerinoes, at all costs. Anywhere and everywhere!"
-- Major Keith "Grid" Caldwell, 74 (Tiger) Squadron

Offline Ernie

• "Once more into the breach"
Re: Hello from Chicago!
« Reply #1 on: September 20, 2013, 10:39:10 AM »
Hello Edward, and welcome to the forum. :)  You have an interesting time ahead of you
in the Great War era.  Working in 1/72 isin't the easiest with WWI aeroplanes, but as you
will see, absolutely amazing results can be achieved.  We have some of the best teeny-scale
modelers around with us.  i am not very experienced myself, but I would think it would do
well if you would ease into it a bit with a couple of models with minimal rigging.  The Fokker
triplane and D.VII would be good examples.  As for paint, I use mostly acrylics, but with an
airbrush. I would defer to some of the excellent brush-painters for a better discussion of that
aspect of paints.