Author Topic: Ansaldo SVA 5 - 1/72nd scale Pegasus kit  (Read 2346 times)

Offline Stuart Malone

Ansaldo SVA 5 - 1/72nd scale Pegasus kit
« on: December 04, 2021, 10:09:44 PM »
Here are progress shots of another half built shelf of doom project.  On all of these shelved models I'm moving forward from where I left off.  I'm not tearing these apart and starting over.  I have unbuilt kits of most of these for that.  I am simply finishing them.

This is my first attempt at wood grain with acrylics.  I have read that the color of the finished aircraft was along the lines of walnut.  I'm debating on whether to try and apply washes to darken it or just leave it.   I am quite happy how it is now after a first go.  At the moment I am struggling with the struts.  I made these from piano wire and brass tube, measured exactly to the length as on the plan provided by Pegasus.  So naturally they were all way too long.  I trimmed and dry fitted the cabenes a couple hundred times to get the top wing height set.  It's eyeball accurate so probably not to scale.  I am now on to the fuselage to wing struts.  These and the rest should all go faster, but it's still going to be a bit tedious.  The sad part is I had all these painted a nice grey color and the mere mention of touching these causes the paint to fall off.  So, there will be a repaint and touch ups.  Lots of touch ups.

Stuart

Offline Stuart Malone

Re: Ansaldo SVA 5 - 1/72nd scale Pegasus kit
« Reply #1 on: December 04, 2021, 11:43:55 PM »
Well, I did it.  I layered on thinned down VMC 'wood grain'.  I am not 100% happy, but it'll do.

Stuart

Offline 2996 Victor

• Mostly over the Alpine Front
« Reply #2 on: December 05, 2021, 02:41:29 AM »
Great work, Stuart, I particularly like the woodgrain effect on the fuselage and the camouflage on the wings - any pointers on how you've achieved it, please?

Cheers,
Mark

Offline RAGIII

« Reply #3 on: December 05, 2021, 02:47:43 AM »