Author Topic: Revell Eindecker EIII 1/72  (Read 5541 times)

Offline Bluesman

Revell Eindecker EIII 1/72
« on: April 25, 2017, 03:06:49 PM »
After seeing some of the awesome models here, I decided to try and step up my game. I am new to modelling so every build is a learning experience. I wasn't going to do a build log because I didn't think anyone wanted pictures of me gluing my fingers to the parts, but then I realized there is a lot of experience here and I thought I would post my build and hope people might make suggestions along the way.

The first thing I did was gather some reference photos from the web, then I washed the sprues of parts to get rid of any release agent. I started with the engine. I got a great close up pic from the London Museum of Science of the engine, and when I compared it to the kit part, I could see it really didn't match very well. The center hub where the cylinders attach was way too tall and there was no way to add the exhaust push rods. I cleaned off the flash and then using my hobby knife a small file began to shave the hub down and to undercut the hub portion where the propeller would attach. The undercut is not to scale, but with the tools I have and my current skill level, it was the best I can do.

Most of the flash off and noticing the height of the central hub.

After about 90 minutes of carefully removing material

I plan on using thin copper wire for the push rods. I think I will start by double or triple folding at one end for the rocker arms,then a ninety degree bend. I am thinking a small bit of stretched sprue across the cylinders and then glue the "rocker arm" perpendicular across that sprue and the other end of the wire will be glued in the undercut portion of the propeller hub. If anyone has any other ideas, please chime in!

I am looking to add the bolt heads to the engine, but I haven't figured out how, or even if you would even see them at 1/72 scale.

Offline RLWP

• Bodger
Re: Revell Eindecker EIII 1/72