Author Topic: WnW Sop Pup first plastic build in over 10 years  (Read 6405 times)

Offline smperry

WnW Sop Pup first plastic build in over 10 years
« on: June 30, 2016, 12:34:50 PM »
Recently joined the Forum and this is my first attempt at a build log.

I'm building a WnW Sopwith Pup. The kit was bought as a reference for a Balsa USA 1/3 scale Pup kit I have awaiting retirement and the time to build it. Since I already started the WnW kit and since most everyone knows what's in one of those boxes, I'll forgo the customary box and sprue shot this time.

It has taken about a week to complete Step 1 of the instructions, the cockpit. A/C is out in my shop, so i only do a little bit at a time. Probably a good thing as getting used to the level of kit engineering in a WnW kit requires slow going. Being used to limited run kits, it has been hard for me to realize all the tabs and position holes actually fit and in fact are critical. I would have likely said something rude if someone told me about it, but seeing it and working with the pieces...Wow!

I'm still getting my bench set up and re-supplied, so I had to make do with what is to hand for colors, washes and tools. The shopping list grows with each session. In spite of not having everything I'd like to hand, I'm having great fun and looking forward to moving ahead with the build.

Kind words are always appreciated, but do little to knock the rust off. It's honest criticism I'm hoping for, feel free to tell me what I'm doing wrong and especially how to do it better.

sp

There is something fundamentally amiss with a society which forces it's modelers to work for a living.

Offline Des

• Administrator
    • ww1aircraftmodels.com
Re: WnW Sop Pup first plastic build in over 10 years
« Reply #1 on: June 30, 2016, 12:38:56 PM »
No criticism necessary Steve, what you have achieved so far looks very impressive.

Des.
Late Founder of ww1aircraftmodels.com and forum.ww1aircraftmodels.com

Offline coyotemagic