Author Topic: WNW Pfalz D.XII  (Read 14281 times)

Offline davec

WNW Pfalz D.XII
« on: July 30, 2017, 09:02:27 AM »
I started drafting this a few weeks ago, before all the photobucket problems. This is a little bit of an experiment- I’m trying to see if I can use dropbox as my photo sharer. 

I started the WNW Pfalz D.XII back in March.  I am a slow builder.  This will probably be like my log on modelshipworld, where there a long gaps in posting, which reflect things getting busy at work. 

This is my third WNW kit, and my fifth airplane since returning to plastic modelling two years ago.  Please feel free to offer any advice or criticism you want.  I am a complete novice, and would really like to take advantage of all your incredible skills and knowledge.

I had planned building out of the box, but have been adding things.  The control wires are Uschi rigging, the yellow spark plug wires are detail master wiring, and the black wires are ez-line.  I used the HGW seatbelts instead of the photoetched ones that came with the kit.  I am planning on following color scheme B jasta 49 with the red tail and Pfalz silber grau fuselage.

So far I have built the cockpit and engine.  I realize the magneto is upside down.  I caught it after I buttoned up the fuselage.  Fortunately, I don’t think it will be visible.  I’m not into heavy weathering, and plan to go really lightly.  I’m aiming for it looking like after a few flights.

The only problem I have had so far was the yellow detail master wires.  Whatever plastic coating is on them seems to be related to the plastic in the bottles super glue comes in.  It took a long time to dry, so getting them on right was really tedious.  It was a sharp contrast to the ez-line, where the glue dried really quickly and was easy to work with.

I’ve made some additional progress since writing this.  If I’ve worked out posting images correctly, I’ll do another post with the images since this one, then try to keep up to date.

Dave