Author Topic: Pegasus Bristol M1.C 1:72  (Read 6698 times)

Offline IanB

Pegasus Bristol M1.C 1:72
« on: October 11, 2013, 12:52:37 AM »
I know....I have way too much on my bench already but....
I teamed up on another forum for a group build with John ("Bolman", a newbie here) for this build. This will definitely be the last new start until ALL of my in progress builds are done.... ;D

I've wanted to build this one for a while so couldn't put it off any longer. The kit is very basic (although the Datafile comments state "superb detail" - how far we have come since the 80's!) with no interior detail, no metal parts and no decals. In true Pegasus style the undercarriage legs are to be made from stock.

The wings needed quite a bit of work. They are too thick and the wrong shape, but apart from that pretty good!  ??? The ailerons were removed and new ones made of the correct shape, the fore and aft wing roots and tips were reshaped, and the wing root cut-outs had plastic card inserts added to the outer edge which were then filed out to give the correct slope from the first rib at the top surface of the wing, out to the second rib on the lower surface. The front and rear edges have also been reshaped for the correct curvature. The first pic shows the uncorrected wing root cutouts and top decking, the second is after those corrections.

The fuselage was a little too wide and too deep. Sanding the joining edges took care of the width. The error on the depth appears to be above the wing level, so I carefully cut the top off each half, sanded it down to correct the error and reattached the top decking. The forward part is moulded with the wings so a couple of saw cuts just above the wing removed that piece for the same treatment. The pics below show where the cut was made (marked by the pencil line) and the first corrected half up against the original (I marked the joining edge with pencil for clarity) to show how much of a reduction was made.